What i need to no when buying amp & subs

Casey08
Unregistered guest
Ok im really new at all this. Im trying to learn. I have a few questions. How do you match an amp and perhaps i get 2 12" subs,how would i make sure that the amp i get will be able to power both subs. I know you have to look at the RMS but is there anything else? And what is the diff from 2 or 4 channels,
I no im an idiot at this, thats why im asking some knowledgable people!

Silver Member
Username: Jaackdeth

United States

Post Number: 643
You want to get as close to the RMS of the subs as you can with the amp you buy, look around before you do buy anything, because alot of cheaper amps say they will put out all kinds of power, and they don't, you will need to provide a budget, so you know what you can spend and on what.

The diff between a 2 and 4 channel is actualy what it means, a 2 channel is designed to run 2 speakers, and a 4 four!

Silver Member
Username: Mixneffect

Orangevale, Ca. USA

Post Number: 383
Match your amp and subs, by resistance, then watts, then channels.

i.e.

Resistance: match up your subs combined resistance to an amp you like.

Watts: try and get an amp that can put out slightly more power than the subs can handle in RMS

Channels: for subs, people just use one or two subs in either a one channel, or two channel configurations. Some experts use three subs using a one channel amp, or a two channel amp bridged, but the resistance should be carefully calculated, otherwise you may end up with a mess.

The difference between 2 channel and 4 channel amps is flexibility. They are both stereo amps, but some 4 channel amps offer a 3 channel setup as well (bridge 2 channels for a sub configuration, and keep the other 2 channels stereo for a component set).

Other things to look for are: