Need Help Selecting Components

Silver Member
Username: James_g

TN

Post Number: 164
I'm new to components. I used 2-way and 3-way mids back in the day. Anyway...

I'm looking to purchase a set of 5.25 components. I've been reading elsewhere about setting the supplied crossovers to change impedance and atenuate the tweeters. How exactly does this work? Are the woofers and the tweeters usually a combined 4 ohms? I need a 4 ohm load on each side from my components so I can also power some 4" mids in the dash. I'm just confused as to how these components are set up as far as impedance and the supplied crossovers.

I'd like to go with Diamond Audio mids since I have their subs. Any suggestions on which set? I'll be powering the components and the 4" mids with a Kicker KX450.2.

Gold Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 4581
"I've been reading elsewhere about setting the supplied crossovers to change impedance and atenuate the tweeters. How exactly does this work?"

Passive crossovers with tweeter attenuation simply use resistors in series with the tweeter, some use a resistor in series with the tweeter and in parallel with the network, some use an RL filter. Basically, you're simply adding series resistance to the tweeter to reduce the amount of power supplied to it.

"Are the woofers and the tweeters usually a combined 4 ohms?"