(I'm going to need a lot of power.....

Username: Buffguy1184

Post Number: 1
So I tossed away my two cvr12 kickers and went a little nuts and bought two S15L7 Solobarick Kickers. If I am correct that's about 4000watts (2000watts rms)? Im a little new to all this. So how many amps would I need for that. Do I want 1 4000watt amp? I am having trouble finding a 2000watt amp let alone a 4000watt. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 8401
the S12L7 is 750wRMS. I doubt the S15L7 is 2Kw RMS. that'd be a peak rating.

I'd have kept the CVRs myself or gone to fifteen inch CVRs.

you'll want about 800 watts each for those L7s.
figure a 1500 watt amp or so is good, like the hifonics brutus.
it's about equal to the price/performance of teh solobarics

Silver Member
Username: Southernrebel

Monroe, Louisiana USA

Post Number: 801
i *think* 15L7's are 1000wrms each.

so something along to lines of an orion 2500d or a crossfire 2000d would work pretty well. But i'm like glasswolf...i figure 1500wrms (750rms per sub) would be plenty, so the hifonics is definnitly in the list for an amp in your case.

i have a friend running 2 L715's on the orion 2500d...he seems to like it.

Gold Member

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 8406
remember, the power handling ratings of speakers are thermal ratings only.
they have nothing to do with the amount of power the speakers actually need to reach peak output, which is usually considerably less than they can "handle."

an "800 watt speaker" doesn't need 800 wats to reach full output. It may only need 300.
800 watts is how much heat, in watts, the coils can handle in an AC wave form without clipping, without burning up the coils.

Bronze Member
Username: Blitzedeclipse

Post Number: 46