Newbie here, several questions about powering new system

Username: Brownnugen

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm really new to this, so thanks in advance for helping me out. Let me start by saying that my goal is to have nice clean sound, not to win any sound competitions or wake any of the neighbors and to also spend as little as I have to.

I'm getting a JVC-AVX1 (20 watts x 4 RMS) and have 2 sets of Blaupunkt component speakers for the front and rear. I already have an old Pioneer tube (kind of like a bazooka tube) that I am thinking about adding at a later date to add a little bass. I also have two really old Pioneer amps (GM-800 [25 x 4 peak] and GM-x302 [35 x 2 at 4 ohms] but it says it's bridgeable, whatever that means).

Remembering my goals (clean sound, least cost):
-Should I just use the amps that I have for my speakers?
-Or should I use the head unit to power the front and rear speakers? I guess I was a little unsure since the head unit is rated at 20 watts x 4 (rms) and 50 x 4 (max) whether I will get better quality/volume using the amp or head unit. I also heard that some of the older amps were pretty underrated (put out more watts than advertised).
-Also use the GM-x302 for my little bass tube?

Lots of questions, thanks for your assistance.

Silver Member
Username: Illuminator

Post Number: 854
That's difficult to say...here's my opinion: try both. See which amp sounds better for the front and rear, you don't have to go all the way and hook up everything but perhaps just one speaker and see what it sounds like.

Bridgeable means you can "bridge" two channels together to get almost double the power output of just a one of the channels. I would suggest you bridge the amp and see how the subwoofer tube sounds, though i'm not sure if it's going to be powerful enough.

Username: Brownnugen

Post Number: 2