What's disadvantage to using 2-ch amp to power 2 sets of components?

Username: Hotstank

Post Number: 1
Hi

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice.
I have a Kenwood Excelon kdc-x789 head unit &
MB-Quart Reference components(f&r).
I'm a newbie to car stereo stuff, and I made the mistake of buying a 2-channel amp, intending to push both sets of components with it. The amp is a Kenwood Excelon KAC-X521 1000w. I know now that I should have gotten a 4-ch. amp. My question is, what's the disadvantage in using the 2-ch. amp to power all 4 speakers? Can I use the amp, or should
I sell it and get a 4-ch ???

Any advice will be GREATLY appreciated.

-Brasskey

Silver Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 280
if the speakers are positioned front and rear, then you'll need a 4 channel, or another 2 channel, for it to sound right. if you hook all to a 2 channel, they will all receive the same signals at the same time and just sound funny.

Bronze Member
Username: Mad_at_madd

Chico, CA USA

Post Number: 14
The only problem that you are going to run into running four speakers off of a two channel amp is, depending on how you do it, is that you either won't be able to fade the speakers or you won't be able to adjust the balance.