Is this amp good with this sub

Username: Robby_

Post Number: 1
i have an old alpine v12 100 and it has no writing on the back so i don't know the power output or the ohm stability does anyone know this?

also am going to conect it to a Ma audio 15" 800 watt dvc sub, will this suffecient or under powered

i am very new to this and got this equipment from a friend for really cheap, and was wondering about any sugestions on how to wire it all up wether it's better to 4 ohms or 2 and to run it in a series or parrelle conection

sorry about all the questions
thanks

Username: Wolfdog22us

Post Number: 5
Best thing to do is go with a smaller Sub, Prefer 8" or 10", this way you wont have to worry about underpowering your subs. I personally think that 15" are way to big and require too much power. For the convenience of getting 2 8" despite not knowing the Output, its your best bet unless you are considering getting a bigger amp. Recommend Infinity Kappa Perfect 10.1.d. Also depends on your enclosure. If you have a ported Enclosure, you dont need a big amp to power your sub, but if you have a sealed, you need a meaty Amp to power it.

Username: Robby_

Post Number: 4
is the infinity kappa a speaker or an amp

sorry a am very new to this

also my sub is enclosed. for a ported box how big would it have to be ?

Bronze Member
Username: Squanto

No, No Usa

Post Number: 52
a sub's size has nothing to do with its power handling capabilities. there are 8" subs that can handle 1000+ watts, and 12" subs you can buy at circuit city that handle 50 watts.

sorry i dont know the output of your amp, but i suggest finding that out first. maybe do a search on google with whatever the amp model number is. and go by the RMS rating on your sub, not peak rating.

Bluntman420
Unregistered guest