Very worried about amount of draw

Anonymous

My BMW 3-series has a 120amp alternator. I'm looking at putting in 2 amps (4-channel and a mono) that will draw a total of 65amps. I'm worried that this is too much total % of my alternator's rating. Do I need to consider trying to find someone who can do a HO BMW alternator? Do they even exist? Most of the websites I've seen listed here only do American and Japanese labels.

Are there any other problems that a HO alternator might bring to my car? Will it affect any of the stock electrical systems negatively? These german cars seem to be very touchy/tuned in terms of their electronics, not very flexible. Will an HO alternator fix one problem but potentially cause others?

I've never done this before, and my cousin had a "pro" installer screw up his BMW to the tune of over $5k in repairs due to wiring/current issues (toasted something related to the airbag brain or ECU, I don't know details).

Gold Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 2687
65A on a 120A alternator isn't horrible, it just depends on the reserve they left. Hard to tell, something you'll just have to see about, I think you'll be ok. If you were to replace the stock alt. for an HO one, you wouldn't hurt a thing. The voltage regulator will prevent the alternator from overcharging, and it will maintain a steady voltage.

Anonymous

One of the 2 amps was class D instead of AB as I thought, so I miscalculated. Their calculated draw is 57.6 Amps on a 120 Amp alternator. I guess I trimmed a bit by disconnecting the junky stock amplifier that the stock head unit uses, so I saved a bit there, plus the car is wired for DVD/Nav, which I don't use, so there's another 10 amps saved. I guess it should be okay, and thanks for helping ease my worried mine a bit.

Silver Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 707