Which amp to buy..are these any good?

Username: Corey01

Post Number: 5
hey im new to all this and i just purchased my first set of subs..2 Audiobahn DUB500 SERIES 15" subs 3200W. Now i need to know which amp to purchase..someone on this site reccomended me the HIFONICS BX1500D Class D 1500W Amp..i am also wandering if these two amps are any good and could support my subs...Audiobanh A8000T 1600 Watt Mono 1Channel Amp or the BOSS PD-4000 High-Current Amplifier 4000W. I'm not really sure what kind of thing i need or how much power everything should have, any help is appreciated thanks

Bronze Member
Username: Oleg

Santa Monica, CA USA

Post Number: 52
If you like the DUB line, look at the D1800D, wire the subs in series-parallel to get in at 2ohms. The amp will deliver 600watts RMS a piece.

Username: Corey01

Post Number: 6
What exactly is a DUB line? and if i wire the amp so it delivers 600 watts, then arent i not getting the full potential of my subs since they each support 1600?

Bronze Member

Santa Monica, CA USA

Post Number: 71
I'm going to educate you about this audiobahn stuff really well, so be sure you digest this. The subs can push 1600Watts only for an instance at an extermely high volume. Continously (RMS power) they can only push 800Watts. This number is a lot more important you should really look at this one...800watts RMS. This is a thermal rating, meaning that you can put about 800watts into the sub without the sub burning or blowing. Usually you need less power to get the full potential of the subwoofer, it's maximum excursion. 600watts RMS for each sub should do perfect. Wire them at 2ohms, series-parallel. Search the forum on exactly how to do that. The DUB line is audiobahn stuff with a dub wheel on it, that's all...same stuff. I mean, if you got the DUB subs, get the DUB amp...I bet it'll be a good match. Be sure to tell everyone how everything sounds!

AzzHole!
Unregistered guest
The Hifonics is a good amp.