Opinions on JBL BP600.1 for $160?

Username: Drumjunky

Colorado

Post Number: 1
I found the JBL BP600.1 at CarDomain (http://www.cardomain.com/item/JBLBP6001Z) for $160. It is refurbished with a factory 1 year warranty.

Do you think that this is a good deal?

What are your opinions on refurbished amps?

Thanks guys

NappyDugout
Unregistered guest
What will you be driving (type of sub)?
Refurb on an amp. I wouldn't, unless that guarantee is really tight. 600 JBL watts...don't let watts deceive you, young Jedi.

Doug W.
Unregistered guest
I bought a used JBL BP600.1 amp off of ebay and I love it, I have a pair of 12" Alpine type S subs, and that amp really drives them hard. Really good amp for the money.

Colorado

Post Number: 2
I am plannin' on getting 2 Infinity Kappa Perfect 12.1d's (DVC, 4 Ohm) and wiring for a 1 Ohm load. The other option I have is to wire it for a 4 Ohm load, but it is recommended to bridge a 2 channel amp for this setup.

For the price (I'm a college student, so funds are tight) and the reputation of these amps on the message board, it looked like a good deal to me. Does anybody think a different amp would work better for the situation?

Thanks for the help

Colorado

Post Number: 3
Hey Doug. How did you wire your system? Did you go for 1 Ohm or 4 Ohms at the amp? ...I see that your Type-S's also have 4 Ohms DVC's, same as the Kappa Perfects.

Gold Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 2665
Refurb amps are fine. Usually they just change a circuit board, so it's basically a new amp. Don't underestimate JBLs amps, they're solid amps for the price and actually are underrated, the JBL 600.1 typically puts out closer to 700W RMS. It's a good deal

Colorado

Post Number: 5