Trimming Monster Cables

Jim Newell
Unregistered guest
Got a new system (HK receiver, JBL S38II speakers) and went to audio store to get speaker cables. The guy sold me some monster cable banana-plug like plug ins and some Monster Cable Z1R cable. Watched him attaching the cable to the plugs and noticed that he had to trim off some of the little copper wires on the outside to get it to fit. Is this the wire that carries the higher frequencies? If so, does trimming some of it off create a problem? (It may be apparent that I am a novice, so sorry if the question is dumb).

Silver Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 963
no, and relax, you'll be fine.:-)

RnB
Unregistered guest
he should not have to trim off the outter strand sof the copper, and yes in theory, the higher frequencies travel through the outter radius of the copper strands.

if you mean you stripped the wire jacket, exposed too long a length of copper, then yes its ok to trim off excess copper from the end.

But if you mean he used a banana termination too small for the cable and had to trim off strands of copper to shrink the cable, thats bad. and poor handling and termination.

he either needs to

a. get a smaller gauge cable
or
b. get larger termination.

Jim Newell
Unregistered guest